Monday, December 9Welcome to our Site

Rare’s Scarlett adventure game ‘will be announced at X019’

British studio Rare will announce a new game at X019 in London on Thursday, it’s been reported.

According to Niko Partners analyst Daniel Ahmad, Microsoft is planning to reveal several first-party games at the event, including a new IP from The Outer Worlds developer Obsidian.

VGC understands Rare’s new title is a third-person adventure game based on a totally original IP. It’s the second consecutive new IP from the veteran developer, following the release of Sea of Thieves in 2018.

The game is still several years away from release, VGC was told, but Microsoft is keen to showcase first-party content ahead of Xbox Scarlett’s 2020 launch – especially following a significant spend on studio acquisitions.

As well as setting up The Initiative and a new Age of Empires studio, Xbox has recently acquired the likes of Ninja Theory (Hellblade), Playground (Forza Horizon), Obsidian (Fallout: New Vegas), InXile (Wasteland 3) and Double Fine (Psychonauts 2).

Niko Partners’ Ahmad wrote on Twitter: “Microsoft have been investing heavily in its studios, games and services. Even with next gen around the corner, XGS have approx. half a dozen titles scheduled to ship in 2020, prior to the Scarlett launch.”

A special Inside Xbox live stream is set for Thursday, November 14.

Ahmad added: “The event will have solid 2020 release dates for XGS games like Bleeding Edge, Minecraft Dungeons and Wasteland 3.”

Microsoft has said that 12 Xbox Game Studios titles will be on show at X019, including new first-party game reveals, brand new Game Pass titles and “big” Project xCloud news.

A special Inside Xbox live stream is set to take place at 8pm UK / 12pm PT / 3pm ET on Thursday, November 14.

X019 will be held at the Copper Box Arena in Queen Elizabeth Olympic Park, Stratford, London, from November 14-16.